Not as Bad as it Could Be Deep Dish Pizza

I don’t want to say this is by any means “healthy”, but really it isn’t all too bad for you. I can’t give specifics, but the ingredients are all pretty healthy!

You will need…

Crust

Pizza yeast (I follow the directions on the back)

Flour

Sugar

Salt

Olive oil

Water

Sauce

One large can on tomato sauce (2 small)

One large can of diced tomatoes (or stewed, or whatever you like)

Spices (fresh basil would have been great, but I was out!)

Onion

Garlic

Pizza

Spinach

Low fat mozzarella

Provel

Parmesan

 

Make the crust. If you don’t have the yeast with the instructions, I think it’s 2 teaspoons sugar, 2 teaspoons olive oil, 2/3 cup water, yeast, shake of salt, 1 3/4 cup flour. I always end up adding more flour.

Roll out the dough and (after spraying down) place it in the pan. I just made it large enough to run over the sides of a square pan and then made a crust with the extra.

For the sauce, I threw the tomato cans into a pot on the stove. I chopped up four cloves of garlic and half an onion and threw it in. Spiced it with fennel, garlic salt, pepper, red pepper, red pepper flakes, oregano and basil.

Once it was mixed, I turned the stove off for it to cool somewhat.

Cover the bottom of the pizza crust with a layer of mozzarella and a bit of provel. Then chop the spinach and make the next layer.

Then add the sauce, by spoonful. WARNING. The tomato sauce ended up making the finished produce a tad runny. I still loved it, it wasn’t soggy or anything. If you don’t want this, strain you sauce.

I put some more spinach after that, then covered that layer with all the cheeses.

Pop it in the oven for 20 minutes, at 400 degrees.

I’d recommend putting aluminum over the crust, so they don’t burn.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Not as Bad as it Could Be Deep Dish Pizza

  1. Pingback: Weekend! « Just another day.

Leave a Reply

