Clean Banana Bread!

Slithering about the kitchen, I noticed that we have four uneaten, rotting bananas just sitting around. As I’ve said in previous posts, I’ve been trying to eat clean. So I searched around and found this recipe.

This recipe comes from Lauren Coles at Clean Eating. Here’s my version.

You will need…WP_20130217_002

1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
Sprinkle of salt
3-4 ripe bananas, depending on how many you’re trying to get rid of đŸ™‚
2 egg whites
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup raw honey (I used 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup sugar, because we didn’t have that much honey.)
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 tbsp of bourbon (yes, I know clean eating + bourbon=nonsense. I added that in because I know of several banana bread recipes that add it in. We have a baby thing of bourbon that no one drinks. So, yada yada yada.)

Pop that in a 350 degree oven for about an hour, or until golden brown.

Nomnomnom:) WP_20130217_003

Leave a Reply

