Mango Habanero Grilled Chicken

So, I won’t lie. I’m all about truth-telling, so here we go. As some of you may know, I thoroughly enjoy The Used. I follow their lead singer (and bassist, but I’m really just all about the singer) on Twitter.  Fangirl-ing through his instagram photos, I found one from summer, yeah I went back that far, don’t judge me, where he made Mango Habanero BBQ chicken.

https://i2.wp.com/distilleryimage9.s3.amazonaws.com/18f7fe44dc1f11e1b65722000a1e9a50_7.jpg

Looks delish right? Apparently he’s a cooking freak like myself. If you didn’t love him then, you do now. A tattooed rock singer who loves cooking? Yeah.

So I made some of my own Mango Habanero Chicken tonight.

You will need…

1/2 cup sugar
1 mango
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1 habanero pepper, finely chopped
A splash of lemon juice (ehh, about 2-3 tablespoons)
A splash of apple juice (“)
1/2 orange’s juice or a tablespoon or two of OJ
Garlic salt to your liking
Chicken
Makes enough marinade for 4-5 tenderloins or 2 breasts.
Try to attempt to cut up the mango. I have no idea the best way to dice those things up. I just end up with a mess.
Throw it in a blender, or if tender enough, mash with a fork.
Toss it in a saucepan with everything but the chicken. After the sugar melts and everything mends together, pour into a bag with chicken and marinate for a couple hours. Note- I marinated ours for about an hour and a half. The outside was amazing, but I didn’t give it enough time to sink into the flesh. So shoot for at least three hours.
Slap on the grill until it’s done. Keep the leftover marinade to brush on while grilling.
WP_20130218_008
Think about this guy while you do so.
https://i2.wp.com/distilleryimage8.s3.amazonaws.com/360f446260f711e2929322000a9e0719_7.jpg
Leave a Reply

