Chocolate Chip Vanilla Butternut Cupcakes

To say I’ve been on a cupcake kick would be an understatement. The truth is…kind of a long story. Sit down and grab a cup of coffee…or a shot of vodka, depending on your tastes.

If you’ve been an long time follower, you know I am a baking freak. I love baking, mostly cupcakes. Duh. They always say do what you love for a living, but since I work from a home kitchen and am a full time student, I can’t exactly do that. So I started posting on places like Craigslist to bake for weddings, parties, showers, etc. About a month ago, I got a call from a woman who wanted a cupcake supplier for her small restaurant. Dream come true, right? I was so excited.

After getting initial details and emailing her a list of prices and flavors, I waited. And waited….annnnd waited. I’ve called the manager at least five times and they always tell me he’s busy and he’ll call back. Bullshit. Needless to say, they don’t understand customer service or any sort of management. If they didn’t want my business, the least they could do is tell me. Not avoid me like a child. Pathetic.

I was so close to doing what I love for a living, well an extra living, and I was beyond excited. But it didn’t happen. I try to stay positive and think well if that’s how they run things, I didn’t want to work for them anyway. But, let’s be honest, a business is not going to contact me often about being their cupcake supplier…from my home kitchen…making whatever kind I want. Too good to be true, I guess.

Anyway, full circle, I would have been making jumbo cupcakes, so I went out and got a pan to practice with before I game them samples. Ever since, I’ve been on a baking kick, because now I only have six cupcakes to give away!

WP_20130319_004

You will need…

1 1/2 sticks of butter
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
1  teaspoons almond extract
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla butternut extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips (just eyeball it, you can never have enough!)
Cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each one.
Mix dry ingredients in separate bowl and add to butter mixture alternatively with buttermilk.
Mix well after each addition.
Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until golden brown. (Bake time is still for normal size cupcakes, jumbo is about double.)
WP_20130319_003
Frosting:
3 cups of powdered sugar
1 stick o’butter
1 teaspoon vanilla butternut extract
3 tablespoons buttermilk
Cream butter and sugar first, add in the others slowly.
Frost those bad boys up and eat em!
Leave a Reply

