Salted Caramel Cupcakes

WP_20130322_009

One of my best friends is coming to town.

I’m so excited, she lives in Washington and I barely see her, but she’s coming in two weeks. And the first thing she said to me was “I totally expect a cupcake when I come visit.”

She knows me too well.

So I whipped up an experimental batch. This recipe comes from 52 Kitchen Adventures.

Her recipe was perfect as is, so I changed nothing!

You will need…

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 stick of unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

Cream the butter and sugar. Her recipe says “until light and fluffy.” Now I know what that’s suppose to look like with normal sugar, but my brown sugar mixture never got either light nor fluffy. I could tell it was mixed completely. But after five minutes of nothing changing, I just went on.

Add each egg one at a time, mixing after. Add vanilla. Mix.

In separate bowl, mix all dry ingredients and add in increments to butter mixture.

Once again, at this point, I know what cupcake batter is suppose to look like. And mine was still pretty thick. I’m not sure if I did something wrong, but I just wanted to reassure everyone that mine turned out fine, even with a thicker batter.

Bake that at 325 for about 15 minutes of until golden brown.

WP_20130322_010

Frosting…

1 stick butter
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups powdered sugar

Melt down the butter in a saucepan. Add sugar and stir. Add cream, and lastly salt. Let bubble (over medium heat) for three minutes. Afterwords, take off burner and let cool for about 45 minutes.

I ran out of time to make my frosting in one night, so I refrigerated the caramel. I know I know, you’re not suppose to. But I did.

So when it came time to make the frosting, I let it sit out for a couple hours, mixed it with powdered sugar and added about 3 tablespoons of milk.

Just eyeball it, you know what frosting’s suppose to look like. I believe in you.

WP_20130322_011

 

One thought on “Salted Caramel Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Almond Chocolate Chip Cupcakes | kingandcowan

Leave a Reply

